Best of 2019 / Black History Month

DJJD spins his favorite tracks from 2019, which also happens to feature mostly black artists, including Malcolm Mooney (of CAN) going Latin, grime punk from London, Lee Scratch Perry at his dubbiest, and much more.

Photo: Detail of Fuliafrocode album, by Luis “El Pana” Tovar and Malcolm Mooney.

Share Tweet Email

  • 9:00pm Down With the Clique by Solange on When I Get Home (Saint Records/Columbia)
  • 9:04pm Thank You God by IceJJFish on The Gospel – EP (Self-Released)
  • 9:06pm Merch Stand by Bob Vylan on Merch Stand – Single (Bob Vylan)
  • 9:10pm Oji tsuba ta txobe Molotova by Scúru Fitchádu on Un Kuzu Runhu (Self-Released)
  • 9:16pm Time Adventure (feat. Niki Yang, Sean Giambrone, Steve Little, Hynden Walch, Olivia Olson, John DiMaggio, Pendleton Ward, Justin Roiland, Maria Bamford, Jessica DiCiccu & Tom Kenny) by Adventure Time, Rebecca Sugar & Tim Kiefer on Adventure Time: Come Along with Me (Music from the Original TV Series) (Cartoon Network Music)
  • 9:18pm Eternity (feat. Philip Glass & Sufi group of Sheikh Ibrahim) by Soundwalk Collective on Mummer Love (Bella Union)
  • 9:25pm Peppermint Pattycake by Danielson & Greg Saunier on JNR Holiday Party, Vol. 2 (Joyful Noise Recordings)
  • 9:33pm Steady Is Compassion by H.R. on Give Thanks (Hardline Entertainment)
  • 9:39pm Mindworker (feat. Gaudi) by Lee “Scratch” Perry on Heavy Rain (On-U Sound)
  • 9:42pm Hooligan Hank by Lee “Scratch” Perry on Heavy Rain (On-U Sound)
  • 9:48pm Un Cambio De Actitud (feat. Steve Williams, Carmelo Medina & Juan Carlos “Chocolate” Gonzales) by Luis “El Pana” Tovar, Malcolm Mooney on Fuliafrocode (Self-Released)
  • 9:50pm Don’t Let Nobody Burn Down Burma Road by Joseph Spence on Good Morning Mr. Walker (Arhoolie Records)
  • 9:54pm Ibn Al Hakim by Franklin Kiermyer on Solomon’s Daughter (Dot Time Records)
  • 9:56pm Moussa Berkiyo / Koubaliy Beriah La’ Foh by Maleem Mahmoud Gania with Pharoah Sanders on The Trance Of Seven Colors (Axiom)
Share Tweet Email